That Sucks Insurance

Today is the kind of day insurance was really made for. My friend is going to be in town on business, and we have plans to get together tonight. However, part of the business thing involves a group skiing outing in the afternoon with an anticipated return time of 7 p.m.

I know damned well that’s not going to happen. It’ll be more like 9 p.m. But I haven’t seen my friend in three years and we live three time zones apart, so we really need to make this happen.

This is why you should be able to place money on things like “something will go wrong/comes up.”  I place a $50 wager on fate screwing over my plans. That way, if I miss out on seeing her, it sucks. But I get like $100 as a consolation for my emotional distress. It would have to be low-odds, of course.

But with my $50 insurance bet, I should also get to include “she injures herself skiing” at payout 200-to-1.

If she goes to the hospital, I would be devastated that (a) anything bad happened to her and (b) I missed out on hanging out with her tonight. The payout would be a small way of the universe trying to make it up to me. Like saying, “Oh, I’m sorry. That sucks. Here’s some money.”  And by “small,” I mean $10,000.

I have no problem “buying” her health and visit for $50. And $10,000 could buy her a lot of flowers.

Leave a Reply

