A Random Thanksgiving

It’s been a while, so here’s a few weeks worth of random thoughts that I jotted down to pass along. Now seems like a good time to share.

This just might be the most ridiculous thing ever: I have something stuck between my teeth that I can’t get out. And it’s a frayed bit of dental floss.

When you’re having problems with Adobe products and call their help center, they will email you status updates of your Adobe Acrobat installation problem… in PDF format.

You know the female Animaniac, Dot, has to be a total kinky slut by now. You could always tell she was dirty on the show. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUJOAaxqc0U

Do new editions of the AP style guide include proper style for rappers? Like Jay Z vs Jay-Z? Or the prefered format for a.k.a.-ing a rapper? As in, “MC Hammer, a.k.a. Stanley Burrell dissed fellow rapper Jay-Z today.”

A student gave me her business card today. It actually wasn’t a business card because she’s just a student and is unemployed. It just had her name, email and phone number on it, and her college. On the back, there were four lines for her or I to write something, under the header “How You Remember Me:”  So I wrote on the back: “She was the student who had business cards.”

The other day, I filled my coffee pot with water, and remembered that I was out of sugar. So I grabbed a few packets while I was there in the break room/mail room. Between the coffee pot and the items from my mailbox, I was out of hands, so I just slipped the sugar packets into my pocket.  One of the sugar packets had a hole in it and now there’s a ton of sugar in my pocket. To rectify this, I empty my pockets out and brushed off the best I could, but it’s never really enough. And someone walked by office while I was doing this, and I looked like a veteran prisoner beckoning to a young inmate to become sadistically involved.

I’m doing some radio work at my new job. And by radio, I mean “internet audio.” I’ve watched a ton of TV games and listened to hundreds of radio games. So sounding like a real broadcaster is something I can fake. We reach a media time out, and I threw it to the commercials with a very smooth outro… Only we don’t have commercials.  So I’m saying “We’ll be right back after this.” When “this” is “silence.” Instead of channeling a TV announcer to try and make my broadcast sound good, I really should be channeling Craig Ferguson and trying to sound Unprofessional.
“We’ll be back… after this silence.”
“I’m turning my mic off now.”
“[tell score], I’m going to have some water. Sit quietly.”
“We’ll be right back, after the hole where the commercials should be. I should sell my OWN ads. If you’d like to have an ad, send a check to KevFu at (address).”

Leave a Reply

