Adjusting to California (Motorist Edition)

One thing I don’t get about California is the attitude towards two-lane streets. There’s a road with two lanes in each direction on my way to work… and there’s a couple of stop signs on it. Why would you have a four-way stop sign on a road that’s four lanes wide total? If it’s got so much traffic on it you need two lanes, then it’s got enough traffic to put a stop light up.

I have to cross the end of that street, still four lanes wide, to walk into my office. And when you step into the shoulder, people 100 feet away will come to a stop and wait for you to cross. It baffles me. There’s four lanes. There’s plenty of room/time for me to walk across the street and dodge you. Just keep your speed and I’ll avoid you. I feel like a jerk when you stop. I’m not a school boy, I can cross the street without getting hit.

Leave a Reply

