All Texts Are Late Night Now

When I told my friends I was moving to California, the second thing they all said (after “congratulations on the job”) was something along the lines of “Don’t call or text me late” or lamenting about how now my calls/texts would be even later.

Well, guys, how am I doing so far?  Good, right?

That’s because I downloaded an app for my Blackberry which will automatically change my phone’s wallpaper for me. I set it to 12 hour intervals. So at 7 p.m. PDT, (10 p.m. EDT), it changes from the traditional “Zen” background to a copy of the Zen background I modified in photoshop. Yes, this is my actual phone:

Sorry for the bad quality, this picture was taken with someone's iPhone.

So there you have it. A not-so-subtle reminder to let you sleep comfortably (No matter how freaking bored I am).

One Response to All Texts Are Late Night Now

  1. Tito says:

    You might think this is a little thing. It isn’t.

    My corporate parent’s headquarters moved from Boston to San Diego, and I am constantly getting calls at 6:30 p.m. from Californians who think I’m still in the office, and then complain to me that I’m leaving work early, not there to answer their calls and respond “in a timely fashion.”

    If you needed a response “in a timely fashion”, why did you call me at 4:30 p.m. in your work day? Did you think in the 30 minutes or so you’d be in the office we could take care of whatever it is you need? What if I was out of the office or had an appointment in the afternoon? You couldn’t call me at 10 a.m. your time and try then?

    I have 5 clients in Washington state, and it’s the same with them – they seem to forget there is a time difference. I did, once, say “so shall I call you at 8:30 a.m. my time, when I will be in my office, even though it’s 6:30 a.m. your time and you might not be awake?” They didn’t seem to think it was so funny then.

Leave a Reply

