Stream of Consciousness XVI

The Death Pool is updated, now that Big Stein’s done floppin and twitchin’

I had a 3:43 conversation with someone in which it took way too long to realize we were in the same building, no more than 50 feet from each other. We then continued talking, even though we were less than 20 feet from one another. I bet if you told Alexander Graham Bell that one day, two family members 20 feet apart would be on the phone with each other in Texas with the call routed through Louisiana, he’d had smashed his new invention with a hammer.

Watching all seven seasons of West Wing (in about 15 days), really actually made me miss work. I mean, these guys are working 18-20 hours a day, chugging coffee, wearing suits and ties, just grinding it out. It reminded me of working the NCAA Tournament. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I want that lifestyle for eight consecutive years, but I have that warrior mentality that gets you through working those long hours. On an unrelated note, I’m writing this at 3:23 pm while taking the last sip of my morning coffee in my pajamas.

I gave serious consideration to using my free time to learning Spanish. Then I realized that I also said the exact same thing about learning to play the guitar. So I symbolically went to my garage and placed the concept next to my seldom-used guitar.

When did CNN.com become such a abysmal news source? User-generated content as a major news gathering outlet? Egads. Can I get a refund on my journalism degree?

Leave a Reply

