It’s Harmless. Don’t Fire Me.

My friend just lost her job, which is not awesome at all. I didn’t know the details, but then I went to her blog, as I check it out daily, and it had been deleted.

So I asked her if those two new developments were related and she confirmed that they were.

As one of her faithful readers, I was surprised, because I didn’t think the contents of her site were anything that reflected poorly on her employer. There wasn’t much where she disparaged her employer or co-workers. It just seemed like someone was afraid, didn’t understand modern media, and overreacted.

I want to have her as a guest blogger here to discuss the whole thing, because I want more details.

I’d be lying if I said it didn’t plant the thought of “Whoa, I wonder if I could be fired for my site.” So I did a little editing to MorganBowers25.com, and did a search for terms that could point me towards things I may not want to retain on the site, and that led to some editing.

I’ve always tried to be someone anonymous. I mean, anyone could put 2 and 2 together and realize who I am and what I do, and who I work for. But I’m not advertising who I am and who I work for. The important thing of this site to me is simply “putting thoughts out there that hopefully someone cares to read.” As well as hopefully incite some more communication with people I’m friends with but don’t talk to enough, and also not have to tell the same stories over and over to different people.

So the idea that I could be terminated from my job for this happy little page was a kick in the face. Especially after yesterday’s development when I discovered that Yahoo has deemed one of my posts “listworthy” for a topic. That’s right, when you search for “Alcohol Quiz,” check out the fifth link down:

Fifth Item Down...

Fifth Item Down...(click for larger)

2 Responses to It’s Harmless. Don’t Fire Me.

  1. jenn says:

    You’re famous!!

  2. Kate - aka - the girl that lost her job due to her blog says:

    Kev –

    I finally got back into the modern world and have caught up on your blog (its 1am and I’m doing laundry – why, because I don’t have to go to work tomorrow).

    That being said, I’ll totally guest blog for you all about how and why I lost my job. I’m not sure I ever told you the full story – it was a little crazy for about a week trying to figure out what I was going to do with my life (which I’m still working on) and where I was going to live (Chicago).

    Let me know if you’re interested!
    Kate

Leave a Reply

