Stream of Consciousness V

Probably last post of the week as we host the Conference tournament. I know its March when my stomach magically turns off. I was kinda hungry and then couldn’t finish 12 wings. My stomach knows when its tourney time and tells me “I know you won’t have time to eat. Just gimme one meal a day. That’s all I ask.”

Sunday was scary. I woke up at 4:30 am with the deadly feeling that the contents of my stomach wanted out. And I didn’t know which exit they wanted to take. I just had to pray I made it through my two plane connections home.
I thought I was coming down with the evil 24 hour flu. I had it once at it was devesatating. I was incapacitated for 2 days. Nothing stayed down. There were projectile ejections. My whole body, joints and muscles were in intense pain and I could not sleep or function. All I could do was lie on the floor and pray for death.
… and one of our players on the trip had it. This would be the WORST possible time to come down with that, and I felt it coming.
So far, I’ve been okay. I think it was just bad onions from dinner Saturday (stomach), my back was just killing me from the aforementioned Southwest flight, and my knee was hurting from climbing under the bus to grab luggage. My general feeling of sickness was dehydration from a few beers. My exhaustion was due to it being a 5 a.m. wakeup for our flight. And my cold shakes were really just having bare feet on the freezing bathroom floor in 20 degree Tulsa.
Needless to say, I took no chances. I did as much work as possible Sunday night (even thought I felt like doing none), went to bed early, and took a change of clothes to office in case of emergencies. (sorry. Graphic.) Let’s just say I’m eating nothing but crackers to be safe, and taking zero chances.

24 tonight was pretty awesome (subtle spoiling to follow. MASSIVE SPOILERS HERE). Some very unrealistic situations. No way Bauer opens the door, and no way Pierce just sits down on the rug. Also, they probably should have silent clocked Buchanan.

The SEC is a total joke, and it’s laughable that LSU suddenly jumped to #11 in the polls in two weeks after doing nothing but beating bad SEC teams. This is the team that lost by 30 to Utah, and lost at home by 10 to Xavier… and they are ranked ahead of both? The conference logo on the shorts is all that matters.

I love March, but I’m disappointed basketball is almost gone for the collegiate season. If there was another sport waiting in the wings to suck me in. Oh, hi baseball, didn’t see you standing there. The Mets are at Houston during a summer weekend. I’m going to have to trick someone with a David Wright crush into making a road trip to check another ballpark off our lists.

Leave a Reply

