Superstition vs Neurotic Behavior

So my team won its last game. I was wearing a blue shirt with green tie because I couldn’t remember the last time I wore that and we’d be losing lately.

We beat the conference leader. So now, I’m thinking “wearing again Saturday.”

I’m not a superstitious person. I’m more “aware of trends” than thinking the shirt will bring us good luck. It’s more “we lost in this, and won in that, so let’s go with that.”

Neurotic behavior would be burning any shirt that I’m wearing in a loss. Or not being able to function if I don’t wear a shirt we won in.

I don’t base my wardrobe necessarily on what happened, but it’s my nature to notice trends (heck, it’s my job. We’re 12-2 when three or more players reach double-figure scoring in a game, and 3-10 when they don’t. Why wouldn’t I know that we’re 2-0 when I accidentally bring the volleyball gray sweatpants instead of my basketball gray sweatpants on the road?)

I haven’t discarded the basketball sweats because we need to win. I’m just saying, can’t hurt if I wear the volleyballs.

Some people can’t do common things like drive the easiest way to work, because there are train tracks. And if they got caught behind a train and then won the game, they’d have to stop and wait for the train every day.

That’s neurotic behavior.

I know my shirt isn’t going to influence the game Saturday. But four more hours of the blue shirt and green tie can’t hurt, can it?

One Response to Superstition vs Neurotic Behavior

  1. Eric says:

    You know the first thing that came to mind? Yes, you do. It was actually the first person that came to mind.
    Rick Jones, bitch!!

    Btw, don’t worry about bringing your vball pants or trying to wear blue/green, or whatever. Maybe for the first leg of the trip; you might need them then. You saw the previous game. Even your bad luck won’t help us not get “pummeled” (though somehow won at UH Sunday…)

Leave a Reply

