Well-Rounded, Timely Structure

Everyone has nuances in their life that are slightly neurotic: most of us hang our clothes facing the same way. Some people have more severe ones than others. One of mine is that I never set my morning alarm on a round number. It’s always something funky. I’m not sure why, that’s just how I’ve always done it.

My associate is the opposite, she always sets hers at something ending in 5 or 0. I thought that was typical of her. Just as my habit is typical of me: When I need to be somewhere at 9, I’m usually a couple minutes early after setting my alarm for, let’s say 8:21. Whereas most people set their alarm for a round number assuming that their 17-minute commute is “about 15 minutes” and it takes them 20 minutes to get ready.

Then it hit me: my associate is pretty responsible, well more organized and structured in her life than I am. Maybe the random ‘flying by the seat of my pants’ behind on everything chaos I’m experiencing can be tied to that.

So I decided to bring about change in my life by trying to step outside the comfort zone and set my alarm for a number ending in 5 or 0.

I decided that since I didn’t need to get coffee before a 9 am meeting, I didn’t need an extra four minutes and could sleep in until 8:25.

So far today’s been a good day. No stress, worked ahead on a couple things, etc. Of course, it’s been stress free because I dominated yesterday and got ahead on a ton of stuff, and have no meetings, no deadlines and no stupidity come up yet, so I can’t really chalk that one up to the 5.

Especially considering that this morning, I suddenly work up worried that I had overslept, and when I looked at my clock it was 8:21.

Leave a Reply

