Location, Location, Location

I’ve noticed my location has a lot to do with my actions/emotions. It’s weird. But I get frustrated/angrier easier in my office/arena than on the road. Even if it’s the exact same transgression. I don’t have the urge for a cigar if I’m not home. And I also could be working on the exact saame amount of sleep, but will be tired and go to bed earlier in a hotel than at home. I was exhausted Sunday night, but stayed up late because I was home, and that’s normal.

Then again, maybe the reason I wanted to go to bed was because I was in El Paso. You know what’s the fun thing to do in El Paso? Pack up your stuff and get the hell out.

We were playing UTEP, which is in El Paso. UTEP’s campus is about a long golf drive from Juarez, Mexico. It’s a place not many people would ever like to go (UTEP, El Paso or Juarez). I think it makes you insane. I can back this up with the conversations I overheard on the bus as we drove from hotel to arena and back multiple times for practice and the game last year.

One conversation focused on how if you were in such a situation, you’d rather die fighting for your independence from aliens or killer robots rather than be enslaved by them. It isn’t quite as poetic as “it’s better to die on your feet than live on your knees,” but it’s certainly a sound philosophy.

Another conversation was about the pros and cons of selling drugs if you lived in El Paso. This quickly turned into a very in depth discussion about how if you were stuck living in there, you could have a pretty good career manufacturing fake documents for illegal immigrants. This struck me as odd, because over the course of the very intellectual conversation about the supply and demand of such services, no one mentioned the very premise of why illegal immigrants need said documents: That being so they can gain legal employment and enjoy the benefits of an American (renting cars, easy travel, etc).

However, the reason for the demand is the very same reason no logical human being capable of such intellectual thought about fake document supply and demand would ever find themselves actually doing this activity. Namely that (a) as an American, you can get a job anywhere with your legitimate documents, and (b) even if you weren’t a legal citizen, you would have the skills to fake documents so you’d appear to be, so why the hell would anyone be in El Paso? If you could get a job somewhere else, you would.

I’ve got to think that even if your business were something like working for the Old El Paso taco supply company, you’d try to get a job at a competitor elsewhere. Why else would that Pace picante sauce commercial point out that most other brands were produced in places like New York City? Even that industry doesn’t want to be in El Paso.

Leave a Reply

