SNOLA! (Snow in New Orleans Reprise)

Where I grew up, we called a dusting of snow on December 11, “a Thursday.” So I felt really stupid when I spent about 20 minutes of my life looking at pictures of snow in New Orleans, when I grew up in a town where the average snowfall in one year is 95 inches.

Snow on a street car & palm trees downtown (stolen from WDSU.com submissions)

Snow on a street car & palm trees downtown (stolen from WDSU.com submissions)

But I had a conversation with a Baton Rouge native, now in Tulsa, who is devastated he missed this…

Eric: I still can’t believe its snowing in Louisiana and i am missing it! I move up north and it snows in South La! Whats it like?
Kev: It was snow early (like til 9:30), then uptown turned to sleet.
Eric: is everything covered? I’ve seen some pics on NOLA.com and The BR Advocate website
Kev: no, not at all. its a dusting.
Eric: I can’t really picture it for real. I have no idea what it looks like. other than pictures, but I’ve seen those before. I really cannot imagine what snow looks like in person. I’m not even joking.
Kev: Wait, you haven’t see it ever?
Eric: From what I hear, it hasn’t snowed like that in 20 years. I remember the 1988 snow, but I was three.
We had slushy snow in 1993.
It snowed on New Year’s night in 2002 in Baton Rouge, but I was in NO for the Sugar Bowl.
I’ve just chronicled all the snow I’ve seen in my life.
Kev: I’ve seen snow like this in MAY.

So the historical context of this snowfall I suppose DOES deserve the absurdity of the day (which feels remarkably like the last day of school before Christmas break. No one is doing much of anything. We’re all taking pictures, blogging, chatting about the snow… making snowmen, going on the roof to throw snowballs at people below, etc. Some of the equipment guys threw together a football game on the practice field).

Snow Man Mardi Gras Style (stolen from WDSU.com submissions)

Snow Man Mardi Gras Style (stolen from WDSU.com submissions)

Here’s some alleged facts (send by my mom, via Weather Channel reports). They may not be correct, as I have supplemented lack of data with potentially inaccurate details:

It has snowed in New Orleans seven times in the last 60 years.
It has only snowed one inch or more twice before today in New Orleans.

More photos of snow in New Orleans (WDSU.com)

I can recall days in which my dad would carry me to the bus stop because the snow was too high for me to walk through when I was in first grade; the aforementioned snow in May; and of course, blizzards where we’d get like 2-3 inches an hour.

But down here, people know exactly how many times they’ve seen snow.  So I suppose it is truly a history event. Sorry you had to miss it, Eric.

And by the time I finished writing this, most evidence that the snow was here is completely gone.

Leave a Reply

